Liberty X About

In 2001, mixed-gender pop group Hear'Say were formed on the British reality television music competition Popstars. The five members were chosen from the final ten contestants.

After failing to make it into Hear'Say, Jessica Taylor, Kelli Young, Kevin Simm, Michelle Heaton and Tony Lundon were brought back by the programme-makers for press interviews. After singing on an Irish radio station, they felt the sounded good together and decided to make a band of their own.

Initially calling themselves “Liberty”, the group released two singles, “Thinking It Over” and “Doin' It”, before being threatened with legal action from a 1990s funk band who were also called Liberty. After a poll, the new group changed their name to Liberty X.

Liberty X scored their first and only UK chart-topper in 2002 with “Just a Little”, which also scored them a BRIT Award for Best British Single. This was followed by further top 10 hits like “Got to Have Your Love”, “Holding On for You”, “Being Nobody” and “Jumpin”.

In 2006, after the commercial failure of their third album X, Liberty X called it a day.

In 2012, they reunited for the ITV2 series The Big Reunion, where they were joined by fellow pop groups 5ive, Atomic Kitten, 911, B*Witched, Honeyz and Blue. This reunion only continued until 2014 for Liberty X, however, after which each member returned to solo projects.

Liberty X Albums

X X Liberty X Released 2005 2 31